Dimension Shifting Platformer

Ever since I worked on my 2D teleporting prototypes I wanted to take the idea into 3D. However, I didn’t just want to copy the mechanic into 3D. I wanted to take it, tweak it, and work on some new Blueprints for the 3D implementation.

I decided to make the teleport less of a teleport and more of a shift between dimensions. I loved Legacy of Kain and wanted to make something inspired by that game, but still make something that was obviously a platformer. This is what I came up with.

Image converted using ifftoany

Image converted using ifftoany

So, the first thing to crack was actually shifting between two parallel worlds. I tried a couple of variants. I built parallel levels and teleported between two locations, I moved platforms and just toggled visibility and collision on and off. As expected, toggling visibility and collision worked best, even though it does cause a momentary performance hit when the player switches worlds. The video below shows it in action:

The next phase is to implement a level. I wanted to go for a tutorial type level, which builds the challenge gradually after it introduces the mechanics. the layout is below.Telporting Map V5 (Extended Tut) (1)

I wanted to highlight a couple of things:

  • The big shapes at the sides of the map represent big landmarks. I want the player to be able to quickly orientate themselves after a shift, and realise they are still in the same location, just in a different version of the world. These landmarks should help this.
  • The level builds steadily. First the player uses obvious switches to remove walls, then to create platforms, then to jump past walls to platforms and so on. The level ends with a moving platform maze with dimension shifts.
Leave a Reply

